8 DANGEROUS Things YOU are doing online WITHOUT KNOWING IT

bad_privacy_settings

8 Worst and Dangerous settings you are using online without knowing it

Sometimes I look at a privacy setting and wonder who would ever allow that? Why would someone want to provide that much personal information to total strangers or to some large Internet company?

App makers sometimes like to test the limits to see what they can get away with, before users decide to turn off a feature because they aren’t comfortable with the amount of personal data being provided, or the audience that it’s being shared with.
We’ve compiled a list of the top 8 privacy settings that make us scratch our heads and wonder why anyone would leave them turned on:

Here Are The Top 8 Worst Privacy Settings to Leave Enabled:

1. Geotagging pictures (Your Phone’s Camera App)

Here’s a bright idea: let’s tag every picture we take on our phone with the precise GPS coordinates of where the photo was taken and embed the data in the picture. What could possibly go wrong?

READ THIS TOO:  GLO TIMES 8, GLO JOLLIFIC8 IS HERE

Lot’s of things could go wrong. Stalkers could find out where you live by reading the metadata from a picture you posted online for one thing. You should consider turning off this feature at the source (in your camera’s app settings). If you have pictures that already have this data in them, Check out our article: How to Remove Geotags From Your Photos.

2. Facebook’s Nearby Friends Location Sharing “Until I Stop” Setting

You know what I really want to do? I want to tell my friends my exact location and then I want to lock the setting so that it allows for constant updates.

Sounds like a great idea, right? Maybe not.

If you don’t find the prospect of letting your friends know where you are all the time then you may want to make sure your phone’s Facebook App isn’t allowing this type of thing. Click on the compass icon next to someone you’ve shared your location with in the Nearby Friends section of the app and make sure the “Until I Stop” option is not checked.
3. Access to Your Phone’s Microphone

READ THIS TOO:  Top 20 useful Websites for Music, Games, Shopping and Productivity

Some apps request access to your phone’s internal microphone to perform certain tasks. We find this feature to be creepy. On the iPhone there is no sub-setting to only allow access while the app is in use, so it’s hard to know when the app is actually using the microphone, which is also a concern.

Click Continue below to learn how to resolve and see the 5 others

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Please Share with others:

FacebookTwitterGoogleTumblrPinterestDigg


Leave a Reply

Connect with:



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *